donraymedia

I’ve Got a Secret or Confessions of an undercover restaurant spy!

In Uncategorized on February 19, 2012 at 3:30 am

Back in the early 1970s when I was a U.S. Postal Police officer, a couple of us were chatting at the bar of a restaurant when another patron overheard us talking about investigations. He took us aside and recruited us as part-time “undercover shoppers.”  So, for the next 15 years or so, I moonlighted as a spy at restaurants, bars, gift shops and even Oakwood Garden Apartments across California. Even though I don’t drink (and didn’t then), I still had to spend an hour in the bar watching the cocktail servers and bartenders. We did a lot of Mexican restaurants, so I filled up on an awful lot of tortilla chips — hence, my current condition of being “gravitationally challenged.”

I’ve Got a Secret001

  1. Don i really liked your story I’ve Got a Secret or Confession of an undercover restaurant spy! I really enjoyed reading about the undercover shopper world as a living. You really made it come alive. Truely did not know there was such a job. I can see that you would make a good shopper because of your investigative writer job. This was right up your alley, so to speak. The more I get to know about you the more impressed I am. Your story was well written, informative and left me wanting to know more stories regarding times you yourself were the shopper. Thank you for sharing your stories with me.

    Kathy L

Leave a Reply

